Alabama's Champion Tree Program

Alabama's Champion Tree Program began in 1970, when 28 trees were listed. As of 2007, there are over 100 state Champion Trees. Modeled after American Forest's Big Tree Program, it is designed to discover, recognize and preserve the largest of each tree species in Alabama. Once a champion is declared, its owner and nominator receive certificates, and a permanent marker is placed at the base of the tree.Champion Bald Cypress in Baldwin County

A Champion Tree is the largest of its particular species in Alabama. The Forestry Commission uses a formula developed by American Forests to determine the size of a tree. The point system is figured as follows: one point for each inch of circumference, plus one point for each foot of height, plus one point for each four feet of average crown spread. Instructions for using this formula can be found on page 12 of the Champion Tree publication.

The Forestry Commission is charged by state law to ensure that our forests meet the needs of all Alabamians. This means helping people to be better users and stewards of our forests.

The Alabama Forestry Commission supports saving and recognizing trees through the Champion Tree Program. Champion trees are not only special, but are worth protection and recognition for future generations.

Anyone can nominate a tree for this program by completing the online nomination form. An Alabama Forestry Commission forestry must verify the tree's measurements and other information.

Eligible nominations will be submitted to the National Register of Big Trees maintained by American Forests in Washington D.C. The National Register uses the same point system as the Alabama Champion Tree Program.

Online Nomination Form

INSIDER guide to Champion trees | Champion Trees of Alabama Publication
(requires Adobe Acrobat Reader)

 For more information about Alabama Champion Trees, please contact:
Dale Dickens
Champion Trees of Alabama
Alabama Forestry Commission
PO Box 302550
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-2550


Alabama Forestry Commission policy prohibits discrimination based on race, color, national origin, sex religion or handicapping conditions.